The Tarkwa-Nsuaem Municipal Assembly has successfully elected Hon. Joseph Kwofie, an Assembly Member for Tarkwa Banso Electoral Areas as the Presiding Member for the 9th Assembly of the Tarkwa-Nsuaem Municipal Assembly.

Out of a total of Fouty-Four (44) Assembly Members, including the Municipal Chief Executive and thirteen (13) government appointees who were present and voted, Hon. Joseph Kwofie pulled thirty (30) votes to beat Hon. Prosper Agbeti, an Assembly Member for Nsuaem Zongo Electoral Area who had ten (10) votes. One (1) ballot was also rejected while two members were absent. The event was held on Monday, 26th February, 2024 at the Municipal Assembly’s Conference Hall.

This came after both candidates had failed to secure two-third of majority of the members who were present and voted in the first round as in accordance with the Local Governance Act 2016.

Hon. Joseph Kwofie was administered the Oath of Allegiance and the Oath of Secrecy whiles sworn into office by the Tarkwa Magistrate Court Judge, His Honour Owusu Nsiah.

The Presiding Member Elect promised to unite and work with everyone for the collective good of the Tarkwa-Nsuaem Municipal Assembly.

The Executive Committee of the Assembly and the Public Relations and Complaints Committee as well as all other Sub Committees were duly constituted.

Posted in Events, General News.