Tarkwa-Nsuaem Municipal Assembly in the western region has inaugurated six (6) urban/zonal/area councils as part of efforts at deepening the local governance decentralization policy that ensures a broader participation and absolute representation of the people at the local level decision making process.

These urban/area/zonal councils included the Tarkwa Urban Council, Benso Area Council, Simpa Area Council, Nsuaem Zonal Council, Nsuta Area Council and Dompim Area Council.

In Attendance were the Municipal Chief Executive, the Presiding Member, and some staff from the municipal assembly, chiefs, members of the area, urban/zonal councils, and representatives of religious bodies as well as the communities’ members.

In an inaugural statement by the Municipal Chief Executive Hon. Mrs. Christina Kobinah, she noted that the area councils as substructures of the assembly were very crucial stratum in the decentralization process and helps the assembly in bringing development at a faster pace to the good people of its jurisdiction. She also tasked members to leave above reproach and to conduct their affairs in an open and transparent manner. She said this was the best way to win and maintain the confidence and support of all stakeholders in order to generate maximum revenue from the areas ceded to them for development interventions. They were also advised not to interfere in the activities of the Public Servants in area councils within their jurisdictions.

Hon. Mrs. Christina Kobinah additionally urged members of the area, urban or zonal councils to take keen interest and support the assembly in its revenue mobilization strategies and efforts at all times as part of their key functions and assured them of the assembly continue support to enable them discharge their duties successfully and diligently.

In accordance with the Local Government Act 462 of 1993, each of the area councils had a membership of fifteen (15) comprising of ten (10) Unit Committees and five (5) Assembly Members.

Also in fulfillment of a constitutional requirement, the Municipal office of the Electoral Commission supervised for the smooth elections of chairpersons among members in each of the urban/zonal/area councils.

Hon. Abban Mensah, Presiding member for the assembly swore members of all the various councils into office.

Miss. Yvonne Dandori, an Assistant Director IIB from the office of the Municipal Administration also took her term to explain the modalities behind the composition of all the urban, zonal or area council members and their key functions. She implored members to refrain from any attempt to steal, and safeguard properties belonging to the assembly and government.

Related Images:

Posted in Events, General News.